breakfast berry crisp

Who says breakfast can’t taste like dessert?!

Image

I love breakfast. On the weekdays, there is nothing I love more than leisurely enjoying my breakfast and coffee before going to work (when I have time). But on Saturdays, breakfast is pretty much a non-existent meal. I usually sleep in and by the time I’m up and showered its already time for lunch. But last Saturday I was up in time to make this crisp and eat some before noon, which is actually an accomplishment.

ImageImage

This recipe is super easy, and doesn’t take too long to make! First, chop up your nuts (I used a mixture of pecans and walnuts) and measure out the oats. Mix the nuts and oats together with the spices, then stir in the honey until combined. But be careful with the honey…I dripped some on my iPhone, and now it only works on speaker mode. Whoops. Guess that’s what I get for texting and baking :p

Image

Next, slice your strawberries in half and throw them in the bottom of the greased pan with the blueberries. I used frozen blueberries and fresh strawberries, but you can use any combination, or even other berries. It would be delicious with blackberries or even peaches!

Image

Then evenly spread the topping over the berries and toss it in the oven for 25-30 minutes. The berries should start getting bubbly and juicy and the top will turn a golden brown. Try not to eat half the pan! 

Filling: 

  • 1 Cup Blueberries
  • 1 Cup Strawberries chopped

 Topping:

  • 1 Cup Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 Cup Chopped Nuts (I used pecans and walnuts)
  • 1/4 C. Honey
  • 1 T. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Nutmeg
  • 2 T. melted butter

Directions:

  • Grease 6 x 8 baking dish. Sprinkle fruit in dish evenly. Combine Oats, Nuts, Cinnamon, Nutmeg in bowl. Stir in honey until combined. Drizzle butter on top, gently stir. Spread evenly on top of fruit in baking dish. Bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes or until top is bubbly and browned. Enjoy!!!

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “breakfast berry crisp

  1. I can’t wait to make this! It looks SOO good! I know Maddie will love it! Also…your pictures are SUPER!!!

  2. Pingback: WIAW – “Things I Want” Edition | A Refining Adventure

Leave a Reply

